BFC Foundation Initiative announces winners of talent support schemes

THE British Fashion Council (BFC) Foundation Initiative announced its Annual Programme of Talent Support as well as the recipients of its latest grants and talent support schemes during BFC Foundation’s event held at the Design Museum.

As one of the most established talent schemes, the BFC NEWGEN identifies designers by their creativity, strong aesthetic and innovation.

The 2022/23 NEWGEN recipients include Ahluwalia, Ancuta Sarca, Asai, Bethany Williams, Chet Lo, Conner Ives, Di Petsa, Eftychia, Feben, Harri, Helen Kirkum, Labrum London as well as Leo Carlton, Masha Popova, Nensi Dojaka, Paolo Carzana, Robyn Lynch, S.S. Daley, Saul Nash, Sinéad O’Dwyer, Stefan Cooke and Yuhan Wag.

These designers will be supported with building their global and high-end fashion brands.


The 2022/23 BFC NEWGEN recipients BFC NEWGEN

The 2022/23 BFC NEWGEN recipients

The BFC/Vogue Designer Fashion Fund was awarded to Richard Quinn, winning £200,000 as well as a mentoring programme that grants him access to funder, industry experts and legal services.

BFCVogue Designer Fashion Fund

Pieces by Richard Quinn, Winner of the BFC/Vogue Designer Fashion Fund

Encouraging positive business growth through financial grants and mentoring, the BFC Fashion Trust ensure the support of projects that help brands think strategically as well as grow sustainably. Designers such as Completedworks,  E.L.V. Denim, Neous, Richard Malone, Supriya Lele, TOVE and Wales Bonner have been granted this award.

BFC Fashion Trust

BFC Fashion Trust

Thanks to his modern interpretation of knitwear and his re-imagination of sportswear, Saul Nash was awarded the Queen Elizabeth II Award for British Design.

Queen Elizabeth II Award for British Design

Saul Nash Winner of the Queen Elizabeth II Award for British Design

One last award that has not announced its winner yet is the BFC/GQ Designer Fashion Fund, which celebrates exceptional talent and offers business mentioning, professional services as well as granting a cash prize of £150,000.

The winner will be announced during London Fashion Week in June 2022 from the shortlisted designers, which include clothsurgeon, LYPH, Nicholas Daley and Olubiyi Thomas.

BFCGQ Designer Fund

BFC/GQ Designer Fund

by Julie Heinisch