Glass checks out Pusha-T new album, Daytona

PRODUCED entirely by Kanye West, Pusha-T’s third solo studio album, at just seven songs and 21 minutes long, references everything from Harvey Weinstein and #MeToo movement to Trump and Russian collusion. Daytona is a follow up to 2016’s King Push – Darkest Before Dawn: The Prelude, which received a widespread critical acclaim and broke into the Top 5 on Billboard’s Hip-Hop albums charts. Pusha-T takes inspiration from his dealer days, telling the truth of his experience and the metamorphose from drug dealer to successful rapper.

Pusha-T Daytona Album Cover

Born Terrence Thornton, Pusha-T occupies a unique spot in hip-hop. Rising on the fertile hip-hop scene centered in Virginia Beach, G.O.O.D Music artist and president prefers to focus on producing swanky tunes rather than falling to the pressures of mainstream trends. The experimental records in Daytona approach well-known soul, funk, and gospel songs like logic puzzles, featuring new verses from Kanye West and Rick Ross. Being the first of five total projects that West will be releasing this summer, the album, according to Pusha-T “represents the fact that I have luxury of time”.

Reportedly, the album cover cost Kanye West $85,000 in license fees, as the photograph shows Whitney Houston’s Atlanta home in 2006 after her alleged drug binge. Depicting paraphernalia apparently related to the consumption of crack cocaine, the cover goes in line with the thematic record by Pusha-T.

by Olga Kuznietsova

Daytona tracklist:
1.   If You Know You Know
2.   The Games We Play
3.   Hard Piano feat. Rick Ross
4.   Come Back Baby
5.   Santeria
6.   What Would Meek Do? feat. Kanye West
7.   Infrared

The album is available across all digital stores 

Leave a Reply