The Loewe Foundation opens submissions for the Craft Prize 2022

THE LOEWE Foundation has announced the opening of submissions for the 2022 edition of its annual Craft Prize.

Celebrating innovation and originality in modern craftsmanship, the Loewe Foundation Craft Prize aims to highlight the importance of craft in today’s culture and support talented international artisans with a winning prize of €50,000.

FangLu Lin Loewe Craft Prize

Fanglu Lin, She

“Craft is always going to be modern,” says Loewe Creative Director Jonathan Anderson, who launched the prize in 2016. “It is about creating objects that have a formula of their own and speak their own language, creating a dialogue that didn’t exist before. It is about newness as much as it is about tradition.”

Last year, the Craft Prize received almost 3,000 total submissions from 107 countries across the globe, with Chinese textile artist Fanglu Lin taking the winning spot for her 2016 work, She.

David Corvalán, Loewe Craft Prize 2021

David Corvalán, Desértico II

As with the 2021 edition, this year’s Craft Prize will be judged by an expert panel composed of artists, artisans, essayists, curators and designers who will consider all submitted works in their final shortlist of up to 30 submissions.

New additions to the expert panel this year include Peter Bauhuis, metal artist and finalist of the Craft Prize 2021, Jiyong Lee, glass artist and finalist of the Craft Prize 2021, Juha Marttila, Leather Goods Design Director at Loewe, textile designer Kavita Parmar, and ceramicist Zizipho Poswa.

The panel’s choice will be made based on several key criteria including, originality, clear artistic vision and merit, precise execution, material excellence, innovative value and a distinct authorial mark, notes the House.

Takayuki Sakiyama, Loewe Craft Prize 2021

Takayuki Sakiyama, Chōtō: Listening to the Waves

The shortlisted works will then go on display as part of an exhibition in Seoul, South Korea, from which the Prize’s jury will select the winning submission. New members of the jury for 2022 include Magdalene Odundo, a Kenyan-born British ceramicist, Abraham Thomas, Curator of Modern Architecture, Design, and Decorative Arts at New York’s Metropolitan Museum of Art, and Fanglu Lin, winner of the Craft Prize 2021.

Prospective candidates for the 2022 edition of the Loewe Foundation Craft Prize should submit their work online. The winner will be announced in Seoul in spring 2022.

by Joshua Hendren

About The Author

Related Posts