Nominations for the Moët British Independent Film Awards 2014 announced


Nominations for the Moët British Independent Film Awards have been announced today by Jared Harris, an actor best known for his role as Lane Pryce in AMC drama Mad Men. Taking place on 7 December, the awards ceremony will be the 17th in the BIFA’s history; this year’s jury includes writer-director Jonathan Romney (also a famous film critic), producer Tracy O’Riordan and actors Stanley Tucci and Luke Treadaway, and will be chaired by Tom Hooper, director of Les Misérables (2012) and The King’s Speech (2010).

Hooper commented, “I am honoured to preside over the Moët BIFA jury this year. It has been an extremely strong year for filmmaking here in Britain and I am looking forward to helping the very best of this year’s independent films get the recognition they deserve.”

The Moet British Independent Film Awards

It has been a record year for the MBIFA, with over 250 films submitted; a shortlist of 70 was chosen by a “pre-selection committee”, with the final nominations decided by ballot. Yann Demange‘s Belfast-set Troubles drama ’71 has turned out to be the most nominated film, boasting nine possible gongs, with Mike Leigh’s Mr Turner and the Wolfe Brothers’ Catch Me Daddy also enjoying a smattering of nominations across the board.

The nominations are as follows:

Best British Independent Film
Mr. Turner
The Imitation Game

Best Director
John Michael McDonagh – Calvary
Lenny Abrahamson – Frank
Matthew Warchus – Pride
Mike Leigh – Mr. Turner
Yann Demange – ’71

The Douglas Hickox Award (Best Début Director)
Daniel Wolfe & Matthew Wolfe – Catch Me Daddy
Hong Khaou – Lilting
Iain Forsyth & Jane Pollard – 20,000 Days on Earth
Morgan Matthews – X+Y
Yann Demange – ’71

Best Screenplay
Graham Moore – The Imitation Game
Gregory Burke – ’71
John Michael McDonagh – Calvary
Jon Ronson, Peter Straughan – Frank
Stephen Beresford – Pride

Best Actress
Alicia Vikander – Testament of Youth
Cheng Pei Pei – Lilting
Gugu Mbatha-Raw – Belle
Keira Knightley – The Imitation Game
Sameena Jabeen Ahmed – Catch Me Daddy

Best Actor
Asa Butterfield – X+Y
Benedict Cumberbatch – The Imitation Game
Brendan Gleeson – Calvary
Jack O’Connell – ’71
Timothy Spall – Mr. Turner

Best Supporting Actress
Dorothy Atkinson – Mr. Turner
Imelda Staunton – Pride
Maggie Gyllenhaal – Frank
Sally Hawkins – X+Y
Sienna Guillory – The Goob

Best Supporting Actor
Andrew Scott – Pride
Ben Schnetzer – Pride
Michael Fassbender – Frank
Rafe Spall – X+Y
Sean Harris – ’71

Most Promising Newcomer
Ben Schnetzer – Pride
Cara Delevingne – The Face of An Angel
Gugu Mbatha-Raw – Belle
Liam Walpole – The Goob
Sameena Jabeen Ahmed – Catch Me Daddy

Best Achievement In Production
20,000 Days on Earth
Catch Me Daddy
The Goob

Best Technical Achievement
Chris Wyatt – Editing – ’71
Dick Pope – Cinematography – Mr. Turner
Robbie Ryan – Cinematography – Catch Me Daddy
Stephen Rennicks – Music – Frank
Tat Radcliffe – Cinematography – ’71

Best Documentary
20,000 Days on Earth
Next Goal Wins
Night Will Fall
The Possibilities Are Endless

Best British Short
Emotional Fusebox
Keeping Up With The Joneses
The Kármán Line

Best International Independent Film
Blue Ruin
Fruitvale Station
The Badadook

The Raindance Award
Flim: The Movie…
Keeping Rosy
The Beat Beneath My Feet

The winners of the Richard Harris Award (for outstanding contribution by an actor to British Film) and the Variety Award are yet to be announced; the winner of the Special Jury Prize will be announced at the Moët British Independent Film Awards on Sunday 7 December.

by Arjun Sajip

Image courtesy of